SCA News

Read the latest news from around Spondon. If you have some local news to share, why not click here to add it.

Added Thursday, 28th November 2019
The latest (14th!) book is now on sale at the usual outlets. Entitled "Church Hill and Potter Street" by Anita and David Hayes, it represents years of research by the local residents.For further details see here. All the earlier books are still available. [Read more]
Added Monday, 1st July 2019
This was officially unveiled on Friday 28 June - for further details see here. [Read more]
Added Monday, 3rd June 2019
In researching the Spondon Archive book on war memorials, we confirmed that the land which is now South Avenue recreation ground, then called Horse Croft, was bought with donations from the village as a war memorial. It was handed over to the Parish Council in 1922 and is now maintained by the City... [Read more]
Added Sunday, 24th February 2019
After the publication of the latest Spondon Archive book, we were contacted by a descendant of  James Wareing. It soon became clear that the information in the book was the "wrong" James Wareing. With help from the Derbyshire War Memorials project team, we have now found the right one... [Read more]
Added Friday, 14th December 2018
These have now been researched by two local volunteers; more details are here. [Read more]
Added Tuesday, 13th November 2018
Published to coincide with the centenary of the Armistice, the latest Archive book is called "Spondon Remembers: the war memorials of Spondon" by Derek Hathaway. More details can be found here. [Read more]
Added Thursday, 8th November 2018
The Community Council has agreed that Hall hire rates will be increased slightly from the beginning of 2019, because of rising costs. Further details are available here. [Read more]
Added Tuesday, 17th July 2018
As you are probably aware, Spondon is now being run as a Community Managed Library under the auspices of Direct Housing Advice.It is hoped to extend the current opening hours, particularly to include Saturdays, but to do that additional volunteers are needed. If you think you may be able to help, or... [Read more]
Added Friday, 22nd June 2018
DHA have announced the initial opening hours of Spondon Library from Monday 25th June:Monday               10.00am – 4.30pmTuesday               10.00am... [Read more]
Added Wednesday, 13th June 2018
An inaugural meeting about the new Community Managed Library in Spondon will be held on Wednesday 27th June in the Village Hall at 1pm More details here. [Read more]